On the Quercy Plateau


A large calcareous plate covered of oaks which grow with difficulty in the search of water and ground,

arid causse but very used until the middle of the last century for many activities of breeding and agriculture then deserted

plateau gashed by the rivers which dug their beds by leaving cliffs against which hang beautiful villages

cazelle or gariotte: an architecture of dry stone domes typical of calcareous plateau
Touristic Quercy with the beautiful rural architecture
very required by a financially easy European population

therefore when a young person or less young person seeks to live in this country and to place themselves, it is difficult to find a hiring at the year, and for the purchase the least ruin is today at a dissuasive price and out of his possibilities

apart from a few summer months the villages are emptied, the schools are closed and the winter solidifies the plate

but not completely

houses using the cliff like back wall
When pieces of wooded grounds are put on sale, or a property which one can buy while grouping, for little that there are a possibility of water, permit building and (possibly) electricity, it is enough so that are born huts and houses. On the plateau also the photovoltaic cells are very much used for the electyricity. Veronique and Jose solved the problem of water by recovering the rain: their roofs lead to a cistern, water is then raised by a pump to water towers arranged in cliff, it goes down again under pressure by gravity while passing through filters (installation of photovoltaic cells will be increased soon to replace the power generating unit which supplies nothing any more but the pump). The surface water of the paths is also channeled towards tanks and is carried out to the kitchen garden: rainwater warmed by the sun = of beautiful vegetables with abundance.
They name Arnold, Pierrette, Kathie, Djingo, Bea, Christophe, Diara, Christelle, Patrick, Domenica, Alex, Manou, Florian, Olivier, Andreas;, Fred, Patrick, Jaco, Michel, Annie, Richard, Annie, Nath, Martine, Marc, Krikri, Kiki, Jean-Michel, Agnes, Pierrot
and I forget... much people, children and animation.
Some lived before as semi nomads, with camp-site bus or bus arranged, others on a boat. Much of them has an activity in the performing arts, one there meets the cores of the OBUBAMBULE, group playing theatre, music, spectacles of streets which these last summers went from village in village in roulottes drawn by horses.
We leave to their meeting


Nomad or sedentary?

Huts or houses?
Houses or huts?
Wiser houses?

Continuation > >

Sur les causses du Quercy


Un grand plateau calcaire couvert de chênes qui croissent difficilement à la recherche d'eau et de terre,

causse aride mais très utilisé jusqu'au milieu du siècle dernier pour maintes activités d'élevage et d'agriculture puis déserté

causse tailladé par les rivières qui ont creusé leur lits en laissant des falaises contre lesquelles s'accrochent de beaux villages

cazelle ou gariotte: une architecture de dômes en pierres sèches typique des causses
Le Quercy touristique à la belle architecture rurale
très recherchée par une population européenne financièrement aisée

aussi quand un jeune ou moins jeune cherche à vivre dans ce pays et se loger, il est difficile de trouver une location à l'année, et pour l'achat la moindre ruine est aujourd'hui à un prix dissuasif et hors de ses possibilités

en dehors de quelques mois d'été les villages se vident , les écoles se ferment et l'hiver fige le causse

mais pas tout à fait

maisons se servant de la falaise comme mur arrière
Lorsque des parcelles de terrains boisés sont mises en vente, ou une propriété que l'on peut acheter en se groupant, pour peu qu'il y ait une possibilité d'eau, de permis de construire et (éventuellement) d'électricité, celà suffit pour que naissent cabanes et maisons. Sur le causse aussi les cellules photovoltaïques sont très utilisées pour l'électricité. Véronique et José ont résolu le problème de l'eau en récupérant la pluie: leurs toitures conduisent à une citerne, l'eau est ensuite élevée par une pompe jusqu'à des châteaux d'eau aménagés dans la falaise, elle redescend sous pression par gravité en passant à travers divers filtres (l'installation de photopiles sera prochainement augmentée pour remplacer le groupe électrogène qui n'alimente plus que la pompe). L'eau de ruissellement des chemins est aussi canalisée vers des réservoirs et menée jusqu'au potager: eau de pluie tiédie par le soleil = de beaux légumes à foison.
Ils se nomment Arnold, Pierrette, Kathie, Djingo, Béa, Christophe, Diara, Christelle, Patrick, Dominique, Alex, Manou, Florian, Olivier, André, Fred, Patrick, Jaco, Michel, Annie, Richard, Annie, Nath, Martine, Marc, Krikri, Kiki, Jean-Michel, Agnès, Pierrot
et j'en oublie....celà fait du monde, des enfants et de l'animation.
Certains ont vécu auparavant en semi nomades, avec camping car ou bus aménagé, d'autres sur un bateau. Beaucoup d'entre eux ont une activité dans les arts du spectacle, on y rencontre les noyaux de l'OBUBAMBULE, groupe de théatre, musique, spectacles de rues qui ces derniers étés allaient de village en village en roulottes tirées par des chevaux.
Nous partons à leur rencontre


Nomade ou sédentaire ?

Cabanes ou maisons ?
Maisons ou cabanes ?
Maisons plus sages ?
Suite -- >>